I have enjoyed a sundae variation every day for the last 2 weeks! It has been incredibly hot here and all I’ve wanted was some ice cream but not all the GI distress from dairy OR the calories! I set out to make the perfect sundae and the possibilities were endless! You can eat this for breakfast, lunch or after dinner! The post was inspired by the lovely Katie and her post on the Breakfast Sundae. Here is my most recent creation…

Choco-Mole Sundae with Banana-Almond Soft Serve (serves 1 very hungry person)

To make the ice cream:

In a blender combine:

1c unsweetened almond milk

1/2 frozen banana

7-10 ice cubes

1tsp xanthan gum

For the toppings, I chopped up one of my homemade Cocoa Mole Larabars using this recipe as a base for the proportions of ingredients and customized it by adding cocoa, cinnamon, cayenne & chili powder. OLE! Next, I sprinkled on some raw pepitas and drizzled chocolate-coconut butter to satisfy my inner Choco-monster.  Head over here for a 2 ingredient recipe for the Chocolate butter. It’s decadent AND healthy.

Optional add ins to your banana-almond soft serve base:

1. swirl in pumpkin and cinnamon for pumpkin pie sundaes

2. cashew cookie sundaes with chopped medjool dates and raw cashews

3. use instant coffee to the base to make a mocha java sundae (chocolate covered espresso beans would make a great sprinkle topping!)

4. berry sundaes using seasonal fruits

5. tropical sundae with chopped dates, dried pineapple & shredded coconut

6. fresh fig & balsamic sundae

ZOMG. what are you ideas for a perfect sundae?

